Posted by: arkachips | April 11, 2009

New Zealand gets tough with Australia

New Zealand Prime Minister, John Key:

‘”It’s totally ridiculous for Australians to claim that they have pavlova, or Phar Lap, or any of those iconic New Zealand items. Everyone knows that they’re ours and for Australia to claim ownership of them is quite inappropriate.”

The former New Zealand prime minister, Robert Muldoon, once quipped that “New Zealanders who emigrate to Australia raise the IQ of both countries”. Asked about that comment, Mr Key replied: “It would be most impolite of me to confirm or deny that proposition.”

And he said the Kiwis were ready to forgive Australia for Trevor Chappell’s infamous underarm bowl in 1981 which prevented the New Zealand batsman from hitting a six to tie a one-day match.

“We’ve certainly stopped the counselling sessions,” he said. ‘

http://tinyurl.com/nzozsmack

And the article ends with a recipe for pavlova. Humour and dessert, always nice 🙂

I must admit, I don’t know much about the politics of either country. There’s some vague words swimming in my mind – aboriginies, rights, Olympics. Hoping to travel there in a few years though, should be interesting, and no, I won’t geek out and refuse to leave the hobbit home. I will self-hypnotise myself to resist, I will. I will be strong.


Responses

  1. […] Original post by arkachips […]


Leave a comment

Categories